Reviews

Dear the team at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel,

March 2019

Thank you for a lovely stay for 5 nights at your hotel with a team of 6 colleagues from Norway . The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is pleasant and homely.

This was my second stay with you, and you will be our first choice when we will be coming back some time.

Marianne, Norway

Amazing Staff – Mar 2019

This has been the best hotel we’ve ever stayed in!! The staff was amazing and the hotel was perfect! Would definitely recommend this place!
Erik T.

Hidden Gem  – Feb 2019

I was pleasantly surprised at this hidden gem in Newport Beach. The entire staff was so welcoming and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our stay and can not wait to book our next stay. We will definitely be returning to this lovely small hotel.
Erika

We had never stayed here before, but as many others have done, we took a chance based on the reviews online and the pictures on the site.  

We were, and are so pleased with the Bay shores that we took a chance on this little gem, and we can’t wait to go back.
Floridagirl

We had never stayed here before, but as many others have done, we took a chance based on the reviews online and the pictures on the site.  

We were, and are so pleased with the Bay shores that we took a chance on this little gem, and we can’t wait to go back.
Floridagirl

Gem of a Hotel! – Dec 2018

Fantastic place! Room was perfect (clean, nice comforts), breakfast was great, and staff was friendly (and most had been at this family-owned hotel for 15-20 years)!! It is central to Newport Beach – between the Bay and the Beach, a few blocks from Newport pier. We’ve already reserved our room for next year!
Jeff F.

Seattle, WA

A treasure – Dec 2018

It is a great little B & B. Breakfast was great, location was perfect and the extra touches were excellent…ie…free parking, chocolate milk, beach toys, location, warm cookies, great rooftop patio…we will return!
Margge

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Amazing place in Newport Beach  –  Nov. 2018

This is one of the small best independent hotels I’ve found in my 36 years in California. The facilities are all there– buffet breakfast, coffee in room, all bath lotions, fee parking, free WiFi, free afternoon cookies in the lounge, and wonderful views of the harbour. Add to that a VERY friendly staff, all eager to help. They deserve to be #1 in Newport Beach, and in my view #1 getaway beach hotel in Southern California. Love the surfer wallpaper in the bath!

Thomas S

Seattle, WA

Great Place!  –  Nov 2018

If you want to feel like you are a guest in someone’s home, this is the place for you. Cute country cottage guestrooms and a super helpful and friendly staff. I lost my hotel and luggage keys while out, and called the front desk and they immediately went to my room and changed the keys for me and then cut the luggage lock when I returned. Beautiful roof top with an ocean and back bay view. Walk across the street to the beach. Also walking distance to the Newport Beach pier and many restaurants and activity rentals. Hot cookies every afternoon and a good breakfast. Was here for business and will return when I am back in the area.

Jet7

Wonderful Stay, Great Location!  –  Oct 2018

Besides the perfect location in Newport Beach, what you’ll also notice most is the awesome service from the very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the Bay Suite which was fantastic for the 3 of us on our weekend getaway. This isn’t the Ritz, but very clean and comfortable with complimentary amenities like fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, breakfast in the morning, and everything you need for a day at the beach (towels, chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards.) Walk a block to the beach, and just a couple more to the pier, shops, great restaurants, and bike rentals (we rode bikes to Balboa and took the ferry to Balboa Island—so fun!) I can’t recommend Bay Shores highly enough!

Karen Idema

Grand Haven, Michigan

Great Location, Cozy, Clean and Friendly  –  Oct 2018

Perfect spot with access to the bay and ocean. Walking distance to many restaurants. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. Don’t miss the rooftop deck for incredible views of the water and sunset.

Josh B

Stellar service, Super Staff!  –  Oct 2018

Our visit to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel was memorable and fun. The staff was incredibly attentive, and it felt more like a bed and breakfast because we were treated so well. We will definitely return again!

Michael M

Beach and surfing decor is fantastic  –  Sept 2018

Second time in 2 years staying at the Bay Shore Inn on the Balboa Peninsula. Great fun hotel with excellent staff, breakfast and great beach access. Room are nicely decorated, very clean with fresh flowers and fruit provided daily. Highly recommend the Bay Shore Inn!

Arno B

Newport Beach, meh. Bay Shores? Wonderful.

Stayed here on a business trip and was absolutely thrilled. It feels like you fell through a wormhole with all the best parts of beach chic from days past. 

One block away from the beach, amazing service and not a dang thing I would change. Highly recommend.

Matt W.

We found this place by random searching and we were so happy with our choice. I want to personally thank Ralph for all his help and tips and kindness. He made us feel like family, rather than just customers. Also Donna and Mark were just as friendly too. The hotel is clean, provides free parking , wifi and as well as free breakfast including some hot items too. I would not hesitate to stay here again . I can’t enough say We love this place
Michael K. Toronto, Canada

 Beth – Jan 2019

Awesome gem in Newport Beach. The best hotel staff I have encountered in all my years of traveling. The rooms are small and quaint that very clean and well-stocked. The best part is you can wake up in the morning and walk on the beach just a few steps away. This is my new favorite.
Beth Ann S.

This hotel was just our style, cozy with character. We felt right at home. Jenny, at the front desk, was a big help to us. She gave us the grand tour and let us know that my husband could store his fishing catch in the freezer over the weekend until we headed home on Sunday. There were so many things within walking distance. The itinerary for couples was very helpful too. We definitely would like to return with our family
Kimberly S.

I took my wife to the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel for her birthday weekend. From the time we got there until we left, the staff treated us like royalty. The room was clean and was just the right size. Had a nice view of the bay and everything was within walking distance. Will definitely come back
Robert E.

If there are truly hidden gems, this is one. It may not be fancy, but the nicest folks work here and all the amenities you need are here. Very convenient to the ocean and the marina. Easy walking to great food and drink up the boardwalk. The view from my room could not be nicer

 

Judim

The best Newport Beach small hotel  –  Nov 2018

The staff was extremely helpful of all of our needs. I liked he roof top area. The rooms were well furnished and quiet. The hotel was within walking distance to the beach as well as the back bay. The staff went out of their way to assist you.

 

Ralph K

Stay Here & You Will NOT Wanna Leave!  –  Nov 2018

Location, amenities, AMAZING staff, cleanliness, roof top deck, the list goes on and on. This place is a gem. First time in Newport Beach. Everything you want for a vacation is literally steps away. Ownership has thought of everything to make a stay special. We will be back sooner than later – hopefully.

 

KMills

Whidbey Island, Washington

Awesome!  –  Oct 2018

This was a great place to stay right across the street from Newport Beach. Walkable from hotel. Staff and amenities are excellent. I had the suite with a couple of friends. We really enjoyed it, although didn’t user the kitchen. If I book the suite again I would definitely plan to cook. Have planned to go again next week, but a regular room, not a suite!

 

Patricia B

Hidden Gem!  –  Oct 2018

This is exactly what an older hotel should be – clean, refurbished, charming, and comfortable! Staff Ralph and Donna welcomed us like we were family, and made sure we knew where to find the beach stuff (towels, chairs, toys, ice) available for guests to use. The rooftop lounge is great! Tables, chairs, loungers, and unbeatable view. Ralph made sure that we knew we were welcome to take a bottle of wine up to enjoy the sunset and that our friends (residents we were there to visit) were welcome, too. We were also welcome to use the dining room when we ordered our pizza. Our friends will have their visiting family stay there. Location is terrific – one block from beautiful beach, with restaurants, park, and shopping nearby. Post-stay follow up was in the form of an email from the owner and a postcard from Donna.

 

J Summer W

Bellingham, United States

The Staff makes the difference.  –  Sept 2018

Great little hotel with the friendliest staff in the world. Very clean and nicely decorated. I was expecting much less for the price but I was pleasantly surprised. Parking is a little hectic but it’s worth the trouble. Great views from the roof.

 

A Hill

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Magic moments  –  Sept  2018

From the first time you enter this delicious hotel with cookies smell you feel in a magic place. Perfect position between the ocean and the laguna, a lovely terrace, an excellent breakfast and the very nice Warren. Simply go there Raffaella, Italy

Maggie Lunel

Turin, Italy